Delhi, the metropolitan capital of india, is located at 28.38° North and 77.13° East & lies in northern India. Uttar Pradesh is on the east and Haryana is on the west of Delhi.

There are three major geographical regions: the Yamuna flood plain, the ridge & the Gangetic Plains. The Yamuna flood plains provide fertile soil which is suitable for agriculture. However, these plains are prone to recurrent floods. With an average altitude of 293 m above sea level, the ridge forms the most dominating feature in this region.

It originates from the Aravalli Hills in the south and encircles the west, north-east and north-west portions of the city. The Great Plains are located in the south of the city and cover most of Delhi.